Johnny boy comes out, saying he was
defending his honor from John Cena, after he was called an idiot and
a corporate jackass. He goes on saying that he's going to humble Cena
at Over the Limit. He gets most of the crowd chanting Cena's name,
which is great. He's a fantastic heel. He then starts bragging about
how big he was in Japan. After he's done but before he leaves the
ring, Punk comes out. I love it every time he comes out to talk.
Everything is pretty predictable, though I love the dig at Johnny
Ace's “Republican tie.”
There's a nice segment backstage where
Laurinitis gets mad at Big Show, who then imitates his voice. Eve
catches him, and it's clear why he's going to lose his match with
Cody Rhodes for the title. It's a short match, with Cody abandoning
the match. Eve comes out, demanding that Big Show apologize for
making fun of Laurinitis's voice. She mocks him, calling him a freak
and saying that he couldn't get a job outside of the WWE. Not sure
where this is going.
Up next is Kofi Kingston vs. Dolph
Ziggler. AW is watching the match with Epico, Primo and Rosa. This is
a good match, and Dolph has an amazing dropkick to knock them down.
Weirdly, Mason Ryan joins AW and EPR in the back. Ziggler wins off a
Zigzag made possible by Swagger's intervention.
After the break is John Cena via
satellite, being interviewed by Michael Cole. They're both good and
play their roles well, but there isn't uch to say. Next match is
Layla and Kelly Kelly vs. Natalya and Maxine. Natalya doesn't even
get a chance to tag in, though Maxine is pretty good.
It's amazing how much better Jericho
and Alberto del Rio's entrances are, compared to Randy Orton and
Sheamus. This is a great match – all these men clearly deserve to
their main event status. Jericho ends up getting the pin off a
Codebreaker, after Sheamus accidentally hit Orton with a Brogue Kick.
After the match, Orton hits Sheamus with an RKO. After the break,
Jericho goes to talk to Laurinitis, followed by Alberto. Orton comes
in and attacks, followed by Sheamus, leading to a four way brawl.
Once they clear out, Laurinitis tells Sheamus that the World
Heavyweight Championship match at Over the Limit will be a Fatal
Fourway.
I love The Miz's nerd reference to Mike
Tyson's Punchout on his way to face Brodus Clay. I think this is the
longest singles match Brodus has been in as the Funkasaurus. Miz
doesn't give Brodus any space once he gains control. This is
definitely the hardest that Brodus has to fight so far, though he
ends up winning off the big splash. They show a new B.A.Star video
package, and I find it hard to believe that Mark Henry has been
bullied. Who would bully that?
A new video package, this time
recapping the showdown between HHH and Brock Lesnar last Monday. Then
Paul Heyman comes out, and I'm pretty surprised to see him. He is
representing Brock Lesnar, and he does a great job talking up Brock
Lesnar. He gets a brief bit of applause, then it gets turned into
boos. He reads a great letter that Lesnar allegedly wrote, saying
that he's never coming back and that he quit. There's a cute sketch
between Big Show and the two actors from that new show, Common Law.
Punk comes out for his match against
Lord Tensai, but Laurinitis changes it to a handicap match against
Tensai and Daniel Bryan. This is a great match, with Tensai and
Daniel Bryan keeping Punk on the defensive for most of the match.
Punk gets a comeback against Bryan, almost hitting a GTS before Bryan
tags out. Punk manages to knock down Tensai and almost hits the Macho
Elbow, if not for Bryan interfering. Lord Tensai uses the green mist,
hitting Punk with the claw for the win. Afterwards, Bryan attacks
Punk and locks in the Yes Lock.
Overall a good episode. The Brodus Clay
match was surprisingly good, and the handicap match was excellent.
No comments:
Post a Comment